HomeBlogBlok vs Spark: the card, the subscription and the price over three years

Field notes

Blok vs Spark: the card, the subscription and the price over three years

Blok pairs a $29 NFC card with a paid app. Spark is a one-time key with a free app. What each enforces, and what each costs by year three.

ComparisonPublished 7 min read

On this page

Disclosure: we make Spark. Blok's figures below were read from its own shop and comparison pages on 23 September 2026; its card was sold out that day.

What Blok is

Blok is an NFC card, keychain or magnet paired with an app that blocks through Apple's Screen Time framework. You build modes in the app — work, sleep, focus — and tap the card to start or stop one. The card carries a lifetime warranty and a 30-day money-back guarantee, needs no battery, and works with iPhone on iOS 14 or later and Android 8 or later.

Where they differ

Blok figures from its shop and comparison pages, 23 September 2026.
BlokSpark
The objectNFC card ($29; keychain and magnet listed but sold out)Bluetooth key or NFC key, from ₹999 + GST
The appBlok's own page prices full access at $59.99/yr or $9.99/moFree, no subscription, no paid tier
To unlockTap the cardTap the NFC key, or hold the phone against the Bluetooth key about 15 seconds
PhonesiOS 14+, Android 8+iOS 17+, Android 12+
Escape hatchNot stated on the shop pageFive emergency unlocks for the life of the account; Strict mode turns them off
Buying from IndiaNot stated; priced in dollarsPriced in rupees, shipped within India
Cost over 3 years$29 plus about $180 in subscription, if you keep full accessOne payment

When Blok is the better buy

  • Your iPhone is older than iOS 17, or your Android is older than 12. Spark will not run; Blok will.
  • You want a card for your wallet rather than a key on a shelf. A card is more portable — though portability is the opposite of the point if you are trying to make the unlock inconvenient.
  • You are outside India and want a product with a lifetime warranty and a 30-day return.

When Spark is the better buy

  • You do not want a subscription attached to a physical object you already bought.
  • You are in India and would rather not pay in dollars or wait on international shipping.
  • You want the unlock to be a walk, not a tap in your pocket: the Bluetooth key's 15-second hold is deliberately slower than a card tap.

One thing neither of us can claim: unbreakable blocking. Both run on a phone you administer, so both can be defeated by deleting the app, and on iPhone both are bound by what Screen Time allows.

Common questions

Does the Blok card work without a subscription?

Blok's shop page does not say a subscription is required, while Blok's own comparison article prices full app access at $59.99 a year or $9.99 a month. Ask them which features the card alone keeps before buying.

Is there a Blok alternative in India?

Spark is the closest: a physical key with a free app, priced in rupees and shipped within India. Detach is another, with a $9.99 card and free worldwide shipping.

The Spark key

One payment, free app, shipped in India. Bluetooth or NFC.

Read this

Sources

  1. Blok Card shop listing — $29 single card, $49 for two or more, iOS 14+ and Android 8+, lifetime warranty, sold out when checked
  2. Blok's app-blocker comparison — Prices full app access at $59.99 a year or $9.99 a month
More reading

The rest of the argument

Each post stands alone. If you would rather have instructions than opinions, the guides are the maintained layer.

All posts
After the reading

Put the unlock in another room.

Once your Spark is paired, locking is one tap and works with Bluetooth off. Unlocking means walking to the key and holding your phone against it — which is the whole difference between deciding to stop and having to stand up. The app is free; the key is the one-time buy.