HomeBlogThe best app blockers in India, honestly compared
The best app blockers in India, honestly compared
What you can actually buy in India, what each costs in rupees, and which ones ship here. Free tools first, then the apps, then the physical keys.
Buying guidePublished 12 min read
On this page
Disclosure: we make Spark, one of the products below. Every rival fact here was read off that company’s own page on 23 September 2026 and is dated in the text, and each section says plainly when you should buy something else. You can check every claim from the sources at the end.
What “best” means in this list
Most “best app blocker” lists are written outside India and quote dollar prices for products that do not ship here. So this one ranks on four things: whether you can actually get it in India, what it costs in rupees once it arrives, how hard it is to defeat at 11 p.m., and whether it keeps charging you every month.
Free first, because it is often enough
Nothing below is worth buying until you have tried the tools already on your phone, set up properly. On Android, Digital Wellbeing gives you app timers, Focus mode and Bedtime mode — and its app-limit PIN is the part people skip, which is what makes the limit hold. On iPhone, Screen Time sets App Limits and Downtime behind a passcode; on iOS 27 those are called Time Allowances and Screen Time Schedule.
The catch is the same on both platforms: you hold the passcode, so every limit is one deliberate tap from being lifted. That is not a flaw in the setup, it is the design — and it is why the paid category exists at all.
Set up the free Android tools firstEvery built-in method on Android, what each one enforces, and exactly how each is bypassed.
Read thisThe same for iPhoneEight iPhone methods ranked, including the Screen Time passcode that decides whether any of them hold.
Read thisApp-only blockers you can use in India
These are software. They are cheap or free, they install in a minute, and the off switch stays on the phone — which is fine if your problem is absent-mindedness rather than a decision you keep re-making.
| Blocker | Cost in India | Platforms | How it gives way |
|---|---|---|---|
| AppBlock (MobileSoft) | Free tier; Play listing showed in-app purchases from ₹25 to ₹11,700 on 18 Sep 2026 | Android, iPhone, browser | Strict Mode resists being switched off on Android; a 2026 Play review describes typing the long password the app itself shows you |
| Stay Focused (INNOXAPPS, an Indian developer) | Free with ads; Play listing showed ₹49 to ₹3,999 on 18 Sep 2026 | Android mainly, iPhone, Chrome | Uses device-admin permission so you cannot uninstall it mid-session; you still hold the settings |
| Freedom | $8.99 a month, or about $3.33 a month billed yearly | Mac, Windows, iPhone, Android, browsers | Locked Mode holds across devices; the subscription is the real cost |
| Cold Turkey (laptop only) | About $45 one-time for Blocker Pro; free tier for websites | Windows and macOS only | The strictest desktop blocking there is — and it does not run on phones at all |
| Opal | Free tier plus a subscription | iPhone, Mac, Android | Hard Mode says “no way out”; it is still software you administer |
| Forest | Free core, paid extras | iPhone, iPad, Android, browsers | You tap “Give Up” and the tree dies. That is the whole lock |
Physical blockers, and which of them reach India
These put the unlock on an object you have to walk to. The category is small, most of it is sold from the US, and import cost is the thing the international lists never mention.
| Product | Price | Reaches India? | What you should know |
|---|---|---|---|
| Spark (ours) | From ₹999 + GST, one-time. Free app, no subscription | Yes — priced in rupees, shipped within India | Bluetooth key: hold the phone against it about 15 seconds. NFC key: tap. Five emergency unlocks for life. The app is not in the app stores yet |
| Brick | $59 one-time; ₹7,999 on an Indian marketplace on 13 Sep 2026, “Ships In 28 Days” | Not directly — ships from the US, UK, Australia, the Netherlands and Canada | The best-known product in the category. No subscription. You can start a session without it, but you need it to end one |
| Detach | App free; NFC card $9.99, magnet $2. No subscription | Says free shipping worldwide | iPhone (iOS 17+) and Android. The card is the only way to end a session |
| Bloom | $39 one-time, no subscription | Store offers Indian rupee pricing; the card was sold out on 23 Sep 2026 | Stainless-steel NFC card, iPhone and Android. The app is free and well rated (4.8 from 3,300+ ratings) |
| Blok | Card $29 (sold out on 23 Sep 2026); Blok’s own comparison page prices full app access at $59.99 a year or $9.99 a month | Not stated on the shop page | iPhone (iOS 14+) and Android (8+). Lifetime warranty, 30-day money back |
| Autonomous Key | $9 one-time, no subscription | Not stated | A passive NFC key. Each tap opens your apps for up to 60 minutes, then they lock again. iOS 15+, Android 8+ |
| Foqos + any NFC tag | Free, open source; tags cost a few rupees | Yes — it is an app, and you buy tags locally | iPhone only, iOS 17.6+. The cheapest honest way into this category |
| TapBlok + any NFC tag | Free, open source, Apache 2.0 | Yes, same reason | Android 7+, installed from GitHub rather than Play. Emergency override is a 30-second to 15-minute hold, or you can disable it |
| kSafe timed lock box | $59–$69 one-time | Ships internationally; no rupee price published | Locks the whole phone away, calls and UPI included. The strictest option, and the least livable |
If this is for exams
The India-specific case is a student with one phone that is also the lecture app, the doubt group and the timetable. Blocking all of it is not the answer; blocking the feeds for the study block, with the unlock outside the room, is.
A phone setup for a NEET or JEE yearWhat to block, what to keep open for lectures, and where the key goes in a hostel or a shared room.
Read thisWhat we would actually tell you to buy
- Try the free tools for two weeks, with the passcode or PIN held by someone else. If they hold, stop here and keep your money.
- If you are on iPhone and want to spend nothing, use Foqos with a cheap NFC tag. On Android, TapBlok does the same job.
- If you want a finished product that ships in India, is priced in rupees and has no subscription, that is what Spark is for.
- If you want the most established brand and can wait about a month and pay import prices, buy Brick.
- If you need calls and UPI blocked too — an exam hall, a Vipassana week — a timed lock box is the only thing that does it.
Common questions
Is there an app blocker made in India?
Stay Focused is built by INNOXAPPS LLP, an Indian developer. Spark is an Indian product too: the app is free and the key is priced in rupees and shipped within India. Most of the rest of the category is American or European.
Does Brick ship to India?
Not from Brick directly. Brick fulfils from the US, UK, Australia, the Netherlands and Canada. Indian buyers either import it and pay whatever duty is due, or buy from a marketplace reseller — one listed it at ₹7,999 with a 28-day ship time on 13 September 2026.
What is the cheapest way to block apps properly?
Free. Foqos on iPhone or TapBlok on Android, plus an NFC tag that costs a few rupees, gives you a physical unlock without buying a finished device. You do the setup yourself and there is no support if it breaks.
Is there an app blocker that cannot be bypassed?
No, and be sceptical of anyone selling one. You administer your own phone, so every blocker can be defeated with enough deliberate effort. What varies is how much effort: a settings toggle, a long password, or a walk to another room.
Which is best for Android specifically?
Android allows stricter enforcement than iPhone, so AppBlock's Strict Mode and Stay Focused both go further than anything on iOS. If you want the unlock off the phone entirely, TapBlok is the free route and Spark is the finished one.
Bluetooth or NFC, one-time, priced in rupees and shipped in India. The app is free with no subscription.
Read thisSources
- Brick — pricing and fulfilment — $59 device; ships from the US, UK, Australia, the Netherlands and Canada
- Detach — Free app, $9.99 NFC card, $2 magnet, no subscription, free shipping worldwide, iOS 17+ and Android
- Bloom Card — $39 one-time, stainless steel, no subscription; sold out when checked
- Bloom on the App Store — Free app, iOS 17.6+, 4.8 from 3,300+ ratings
- Blok Card shop listing — $29 single card, iPhone iOS 14+ and Android 8+, lifetime warranty; sold out when checked
- Blok's own app-blocker comparison — Prices Blok's full app access at $59.99 a year or $9.99 a month
- Autonomous Key — $9 passive NFC key, up to a 60-minute window per tap, iOS 15+ and Android 8+
- TapBlok — Free and open source (Apache 2.0), Android 7+, installed from GitHub releases
- Foqos — Free, open source, iPhone only
- Forest — Free core tier; Deep Focus ends when you tap Give Up
- Opal — Free tier plus Opal Pro; Hard Mode described as “no way out”
The rest of the argument
Each post stands alone. If you would rather have instructions than opinions, the guides are the maintained layer.
Physical app blockers in India: what reaches you, and what it costs
Every physical blocker you can get in India, with rupee prices, import reality and shipping times — and the free NFC-tag route that costs nothing.
10 min readBuying guide · 23 Sept 2026The best app blockers in 2026, ranked by how hard they are to bypass
One ranking axis: what it takes to get back in. Physical keys, software strict modes and gentle nudges, with what each actually enforces.
11 min readPut the unlock in another room.
Once your Spark is paired, locking is one tap and works with Bluetooth off. Unlocking means walking to the key and holding your phone against it — which is the whole difference between deciding to stop and having to stand up. The app is free; the key is the one-time buy.